Uterine Cancer

diagram of uterusWhat is uterine cancer?

When cancer starts in the uterus, it is called uterine cancer. The uterus is the pear-shaped organ in a woman’s pelvis. Also called the womb, the uterus is where the baby grows when a woman is pregnant.

Who gets uterine cancer?

All women—except those whose uterus was removed by having a hysterectomy—are at risk for uterine cancer, and the risk increases with age. Most uterine cancers are found in women who are going through or have gone through menopause. Each year, approximately 65,950 women in the United States get uterine cancer.

There are two main types of uterine cancer:

Endometrial cancer: The most common type of uterine cancer. Endometrial cancer forms in the lining of the uterus, which is called the endometrium.

Uterine sarcoma: A rare type of uterine cancer that forms in the muscle or other tissue of the uterus.

When uterine cancer is found early, treatment is most effective.

Risk Factors

SOURCE: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer campaign

Learn about the types of gynecologic cancers and their symptoms